#otd1945

The Final Months of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Concentration Camps

Starting in January, the blog #otd1945 (“on this day 1945”) will take a day-by-day look at what was going on in the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora concentration camps 76 years ago.

In early 1945, many concentration camp inmates hoped liberation was well on its way. They knew it was merely a matter of time before Germany lost the war. But the killing in the camps and the forced labour venues did not let up. On the contrary, it escalated.

The situations of the German public and the concentration camp inmates could hardly have been more different. Whereas the former carried on, joined in, or simply looked the other way, the latter struggled for sheer survival under the disastrous conditions in the overcrowded camps.

The mass deaths did not end with the liberation of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora camps on 11 April. Many of the inmates who had been forced to set out on death marches remained in captivity until the German surrender on 8 May. And even afterwards, inmates continued to die of the consequences of concentration camp imprisonment.

  • 04March

    Before His Father’s Eyes

    Karol Frim was only 19 years old when he died in the Buchenwald Little Camp on 4 March 1945. He and his father Leon had survived the Przemyśl ghetto, various labour camps, Auschwitz, and the death march from Gross-Rosen to Buchenwald. In the Little Camp, everything was scarce.

  • 03March

    Kin Liability

    On 3 March 1945, forty inmates arrived at Buchenwald. Referred to as “Sippe” (“kin”), they were lodged in an isolation barrack near the SS caserns. By order of the Nazi leadership, they were to atone for the participation of their family members in the 20 July 1944 attempt on Hitler’s life.

  • 02March

    More and More Dead: A Crematorium for Ellrich

    On 1 March 1945, the SS transferred 75 corpses from the Ellrich-Juliushütte subcamp to the Dora parent camp for incineration. It was to be the last such transport. The Dora crematorium could no longer meet the demand. Presumably on 2 March 1945, a new crematorium went into operation in Ellrich Juliushütte.

  • 01March

    The “Block of Death”

    On 1 March 1945, 229 persons died in the Buchenwald concentration camp and its subcamps. Block 61 in the Little Camp alone counted 135 dead. The inmates called it the “Block of Death”. It served as a sick ward. In January 1945 it became the scene of a murder operation.

  • “Dear Mum, we’re hungry …”

    The brothers Hans and Ernst Siegel reached the Mittelbau concentration camp in early 1945 on one of the murderous transports from Auschwitz. After their arrival, the two young men from Barmen found themselves living in disastrous conditions.

  • March Down
  • 28February

    Propaganda

    On 28 February 1945, the Reich propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels gave one of his last radio addresses. At Ellrich-Juliushütte, a Mittelbau-Dora subcamp, the concentration camp guard Rudolf Zseby was listening.

  • 27February

    White Busses to Freedom

    On 27 February 1945, the Buchenwald SS had a list drawn up. It contained the names of 471 Norwegians and 75 Danes.

  • 26February

    Nursery Rhymes from Buchenwald

    A child’s perspective on an inhumane world: it was a boy who recorded his experiences in rhymes and drawings in this makeshift booklet.

  • 25February

    “With the utmost trust in God…”

    Ignacy Ledóchowski was 73 years old when he was sent from the Gross-Rosen concentration camp to Mittelbau-Dora on a clearance transport in February 1945. After months of hardship, it would be his last journey. He did not survive his time at the camp outside Nordhausen.

  • 24February

    “Re.: Detachments with Jewish inmates”

    On 24 February 1945, as he had done regularly for months, the SS labour allocation officer had a list drawn up under this heading. Wherever possible, the SS continued to insist on the separation of Jews and non-Jews, also in the subcamps.

  • 23February

    Refusal

    In the fall of 1944, the Nazi regime raised a national militia called the Volkssturm. All men between 16 and 60 not yet conscripted to army service were now to be mobilized for war as a last reserve. The coal miner Johann Rasch of Bottrop, however, refused to go along.

  • 22February

    Profiteurs

    After an Allied bomb attack, the city of Nordhausen requested inmates from the Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp for rescue and clean-up operations. On 22 February 1945, 389 inmates had to march the five kilometres to the town and carry out the dangerous and exhausting work.

  • 21February

    Beaten to Death by the Kapo

    On the early morning of 21 February 1945, the Pole Alfred Zarejski was admitted to the Dora camp infirmary with severe abdominal pain. He died of internal bleeding five hours later. An autopsy revealed a ruptured spleen.

  • 20February

    “Cause of death: total exhaustion”

    “Departure through death” is the heading on the death certificate of the Frenchman François Audran, who perished in the Elrich-Juliushütte subcamp of the Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp on 20 February 1945. He had been transferred to the Harz Mountains from Rechlin, a Ravensbrück subcamp, just a week earlier.

  • 19February

    Rubble Men

    On 19 February 1945, the Gauleiter of Thuringia proclaimed: “And we shall prevail!” in an attempt to boost the public morale. The same day, the municipal building office had 1,051 concentration camp inmates brought from Buchenwald to Weimar. There they were put to work in the most dangerous of operations.

  • 18February

    “Malachit” – Gruelling Construction Work in the tunnel

    On 18 February 1945, 135 Jewish inmates arrived in the Langenstein-Zwieberge subcamp of Buchenwald. In an operation with the code name “Malachit”, the SS were having a tunnel system constructed there in the Thekenberge, a chain of hills in the Harz Mountains.

  • 17February

    Fateless

    For those who pulled him out from among the corpses, he was a nameless boy. A medical orderly carried him up to the middle floor of the depot building in Buchenwald, where he got something to eat. Another orderly appeared and carried him off to an infirmary barrack in the “Little Camp”.

  • 16February

    “Desertion”

    On 16 February 1945, six so-called temporary detainees were committed to the Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp. They were Wehrmacht deserters who were to serve their actual sentences after the war. Their varied fates testify to the despotic nature of Nazi terror in the final months of the war.

  • 15February

    “Pig-Face Anne”

    On 15 February 1945, there were 26,000 women and girls in the 26 Buchenwald women’s subcamps. They were guarded and harassed by 319 SS men and 567 women overseers.

  • 14February

    “Aiding and abetting his mother’s attempted escape”

    More than 700 persons died in the Ohrdruf subcamp in February alone. Their corpses were buried or burnt to ash in the open air. One of those to remain without a grave was the 30-year-old motorist Walter Roth of Kronberg, who died on 14 February 1945.

  • 13February

    Through the Middle of Town

    Marching gangs of concentration camp inmates had already long been a common sight in the Ruhr town of Witten-Annen. The SS had set up a Buchenwald subcamp there for the Ruhrstahl AG company in September 1944.

  • 12February

    “Shot trying to escape”

    Bernhard Lüdtke was one of more than 200 inmates of the Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp categorized as homosexual. He lived to be only 31 years old. According to SS records, he was brought in dead to the Harzungen subcamp infirmary on 12 February 1945.

  • 11February

    Big Politics

    In Yalta, a Soviet bathing resort on the Crimean Peninsula, the heads of government of the Soviet Union, the United States and the United Kingdom gathered for a closing group photo. Over the previous eight days, the “Big Three” had forged their anti-Hitler coalition plans for the period after victory over Nazi Germany.

  • 10February

    Secret Notes

    Alex Hacker recorded the events of his concentration camp imprisonment in a secret notebook. In Dora on 10 February 1945, he made a special entry: “And here I will enter the date when I see my dear and beloved mother and my father once again in health.”

  • 09February

    Air Raid

    On 9 February 1945, the U.S. Air Force attacked the armaments works to the north of Weimar. Yet hundreds of people also died in the town.

  • 08February

    An Escape from Everyday Life in the Camp

    Drawing gave the young Maria Brzęcka of Poland an escape from the agonizing realities of life in the Meuselwitz subcamp. Violence, vermin, hunger and forced labour to the point of exhaustion – the living conditions in the Buchenwald women’s camp were horrible.

  • 07February

    “By good forces wonderfully sheltered …”

    Thus begins the final verse of a poem the theologian Dr. Dietrich Bonhoeffer sent to his fiancée from the Gestapo prison in Berlin. It would be his last letter. On 7 February 1945, the Gestapo transferred him and eleven other prisoners to Buchenwald.

  • 06February

    Worked to Death

    On 6 February 1945, the officer in charge of the Harzungen subcamp reported the deaths of Eduard Florian, Mathis Dambrowski and Josef Herzenberger to Dora, the parent camp of the Mittelbau concentration camp. They had died of the consequences of forced labour, hunger, cold, miserable hygiene conditions and insufficient medical care.

  • 05February

    In “night and fog”

    On this day, 285 men reached Buchenwald from the Gross-Strehlitz penitentiary in Silesia after its clearance. In many cases, their relatives had had no sign of life from them for years. The German occupiers had deported them in “night and fog”, as it was called in Nazi jargon.

  • 04February

    “… a bit of freedom”

    The journalist Josef Ackermann of Munich had already been in concentration camp custody for more than five years, first in Buchenwald and since January 1944 in Dora. The Gestapo had arrested him when the war broke out.

  • 03February

    A “Righteous Among the Nations”

    On this day, the 63-year-old Maurice Trélut, a Frenchman, died in the Little Camp of Buchenwald. He had spent the last months of his life here in the camp slum, surrounded by filth, stench, disease and mass death.

  • 02February

    Carrying On

    By this winter, few Germans still believed in the “final victory” propagated by the Nazis. Although a defeatist mood had taken hold, there was neither any appreciable resistance nor any slump in armaments production.

  • 01February

    A New Commander from Auschwitz

    On 1 February 1945, the 33-year-old Richard Baer became the new commander of the Mittelbau concentration camp. He had come to the Southern Harz Mountains at the end of January along with thousands of inmates, hundreds of other members of the SS and the entire general staff of the Auschwitz concentration camp.

  • Up February Down
  • 31January

    Last Deportations

    On 31 January, the Gestapo deported 172 of the last Jews still in Germany from Weimar and other cities to the Terezín Ghetto.

  • 30January

    “… to the last breath!”

    On 30 January 1945, the 12th anniversary of the National Socialist accession to power, the Nordhausen chapter of the Nazi party staged a rally in the Riesenhaus, a city landmark.

  • 29January

    Murder as a Deterrent

    On 29 January 1945, the SS put Pēteris Zunters in custody in the Buchenwald detention cell building. The following day they hanged him and eight other inmates from the Langensalza subcamp in the crematorium cellar.

  • 28January

    From Auschwitz to the Harz Mountains

    The Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp received its first major clearance transport from Auschwitz, carrying some 4,000 inmates, on 28 January.

  • 27January

    His Father’s Death

    He had talked to his son Bertrand just the night before – like he had every night since he had been in the infirmary. Now Willy Herz was at the end of his strength.

  • 26January

    Death on the Train

    On 26 January, a train with dozens of open freight wagons brought nearly 4,000 inmates, primarily Jewish men and boys, to Buchenwald from Auschwitz.

  • 25January

    121 649 26 03 25 15 323

    On 25 January, SS headquarters in Berlin sent a ten-page list containing 850 numerical codes – the first of its kind – to Buchenwald.

  • 24January

    Desperation and Delusions of Grandeur

    In the week ending on 24 January 1945, shots of the V2 rocket flickered across Germany’s cinema screens on the Deutsche Wochenschau newsreel.

  • 23January

    Unexpected Help

    On 23 January 1945, after arriving in Buchenwald from Auschwitz, the 16-year-old Jewish inmate Robert Büchler experienced a hitherto unknown act of solidarity.

  • 22January

    Hanged in His Cell

    On the night of 22 January 1945, the Communist Albert Kuntz died in the Mittelbau-Dora detention cell building.

  • 21January

    From Wehrmacht Soldier to Concentration Camp Guard

    In 1944, the demand for guard personnel grew as the SS founded more and more new subcamps. To fill the gap, large numbers of Wehrmacht soldiers were assigned to duty in the concentration camps.

  • 20January

    Vermouth and Cigars with the Forced Labour Manager

    Even in the final months of the war, the Nazis continued planning the deployment of concentration camp inmates to the rocket assembly effort.

  • 19January

    Sunrise

    The inmates in the Holzen subcamp followed the Allied advance with a mixture of hope and anxiety.

  • 18January

    Children’s Block 66

    “So that is what my new home looked like.” With those words, 16-year-old Salek Orenstein concluded his description of his lodgings in the Little Camp of Buchenwald.

  • 17January

    The Last Letter

    Just a week earlier, a police officer in Cologne had raised Theodor Babilon’s hopes of being released. Those hopes were dashed.

  • 16January

    Frostbite on Their Hands and Feet

    On this evening, the thermometer registered -8 °C (17 °F); it had been bitterly cold for weeks. Nevertheless, more than 1,000 women from the Markkleeberg subcamp set off for their twelve-hour shift in the Junkers factory.

  • 15January

    A Prisoner of War in the Concentration Camp

    On 15 January, the Mittelbau concentration camp SS founded a new subcamp in Wickerode, a village in what is now Saxony-Anhalt. There they put 30 Italian prisoners of war to work laying a gas line.

  • 14January

    Jazz in the Buchenwald Concentration Camp

    On this Sunday, the daily Buchenwald statistics recorded nearly 89,000 inmates. Thousands waited in quarantine or lay mortally ill in the makeshift infirmaries; 71 died.

  • 13January

    “Like a desert storm …”

    Even the inmates in the Ellrich-Juliushütte subcamp learned of the Red Army’s rapid advance. After the war, Serge Miller, a member of the French resistance, remembered 13 January 1945 as a day of hope.

  • 12January

    “Invalid Transport”

    On 12 January 1945, 1,400 completely enfeebled inmates arrived at the Buchenwald station in the driving sleet. Nearly half of them were Hungarian Jews; 165 had died on the way.

  • 11January

    From the Front to the Concentration Camp

    “For assignment to heavy and dangerous labour […]” That is how an information bulletin for the German field army courts referred to the committal of convicted Wehrmacht soldiers to concentration camps in September 1944.

  • 10January

    The Women of Penig

    The Max Gehrt Works in Penig had already been requesting concentration camp inmate labourers for some time. On 10 January, the SS responded by sending a transport of 700 female forced labourers from Ravensbrück to the new Buchenwald subcamp in the small Saxon town.

  • 09January

    A New Concentration Camp in the Middle of the Village

    The network of the Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp outside Nordhausen gradually spread to the surrounding communities.

  • 08January

    A Microcosm of Nazi Camp Terror

    During the war, people from all over Europe were deported to Germany to perform forced labour. The Mittelbau-Dora subcamp founded on 8 January is a representative example of how the deadly system of various camp types operated.

  • 07January

    Sunday in Schlieben

    On this Sunday, more than 2,300 inmates of the Schlieben subcamp – men and women – went to work in the munitions factory. It was here, far outside the target range of the Allied bombers, that the Hugo Schneider company (Hasag) manufactured the Panzerfaust, the anti-tank weapon for the “final battle”. The aim was to produce one million a month, cost what it may.

  • 06January

    A “Hero of the Soviet Union” Dies in Buchenwald

    On 6 January, the camp administration registered the death of the 28-year-old Soviet prisoner of war Gawriil Lepjochin. A few months later, much to their astonishment, some of his fellow inmates encountered him alive.

  • 05January

    Children’s Transport

    One day in Buchenwald the order went out to assemble a children’s transport. Fearing the children would be sent to their deaths, the inmate functionaries tried to keep the number as small as possible. They had no means of preventing the transport altogether.

  • 04January

    Back to Auschwitz

    On 4 January 1945, two women left the Buchenwald subcamp in Hessisch-Lichtenau accompanied by a member of the SS. Their destination was Auschwitz-Birkenau.

  • 03January

    “Recruited for Labour Off the Street”

    The eighteen-year-old René d’Halluin of France died in the Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp on 3 January 1945.

  • 02January

    Help for a Sixteen-Year-Old

    In the “Hecht” subcamp in Holzen, the French inmate Camille Delétang drew a portrait of his fellow prisoner Jean-Louis Netter.

  • 01January

    “Life is beautiful”

    New Year’s Day 1945. For the Buchenwald inmate Jean-Louis Guellerin it was a day of hope – hope for an end to the war, a life in freedom and a return home.

  • Up January

#otd1945

Die letzten Monate der Konzentrationslager Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora

Ab Januar richtet der Blog #otd1945 („on this day 1945“) Tag für Tag den Blick auf einzelne Geschehnisse in den Konzentrationslagern Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora vor 76 Jahren.

Anfang 1945 hofften viele Häftlinge in den Konzentrationslagern auf ihre baldige Befreiung. Die deutsche Kriegsniederlage war nur noch eine Frage der Zeit. Doch das Morden in den Lagern und auf den Schauplätzen der Zwangsarbeit brach nicht ab. Im Gegenteil: Es eskalierte.

Die Situation für die deutsche Bevölkerung und die Häftlinge in den Konzentrationslagern konnte nicht unterschiedlicher sein: Während die einen weitermachten, mitmachten oder schlicht wegschauten, kämpften die anderen in den überfüllten Lagern unter katastrophalen Bedingungen um ihr Überleben.

Das massenhafte Sterben endete nicht mit der Befreiung der KZ Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora am 11. April. Für viele auf Todesmärsche getriebene Häftlinge brachte erst die deutsche Kapitulation am 8. Mai ein Ende der Gefangenschaft. Aber selbst danach starben weiterhin Häftlinge an den Folgen der KZ-Haft.

  • 04März

    Vor den Augen des Vaters

    Karol Frim wurde nur 19 Jahre alt. Am 4. März 1945 starb er im Kleinen Lager von Buchenwald. Mit seinem Vater Leon hatte er das Ghetto Przemyśl, verschiedene Arbeitslager, Auschwitz und den Todesmarsch von Groß-Rosen nach Buchenwald überstanden. Im Kleinen Lagern fehlte es an allem.

  • 03März

    Sippenhaft

    Am 3. März 1945 trafen 40 Häftlinge in Buchenwald ein. Sie wurden in einer isolierten Baracke nahe der SS-Kasernen untergebracht. Auf Befehl der NS-Führung sollten sie als „Sippe“ für die Beteiligung von Familienangehörigen am Attentat auf Hitler am 20. Juli 1944 büßen.

  • 02März

    Immer mehr Tote: Ein Krematorium für Ellrich

    Am 1. März 1945 brachte die SS mit einem Transport von 75 Leichen letztmalig Tote aus dem Außenlager Ellrich-Juliushütte zur Verbrennung in das überlastete Krematorium des Hauptlagers Dora. Vermutlich am 2. März 1945 nahm ein neues Krematorium in Ellrich-Juliushütte den Betrieb auf.

  • 01März

    Der „Block des Todes“

    229 Menschen starben am 1. März 1945 im KZ Buchenwald und seinen Außenlagern. Allein 135 Tote zählte Block 61 im Kleinen Lager – der „Block des Todes“, wie Häftlinge ihn nannten. Dieser Block diente als Seuchenstation. Ab Januar 1945 wurde er zum Tatort einer Mordaktion.

  • „Liebe Mutti, wir haben Hunger …“

    Mit den mörderischen Transporten aus dem KZ Auschwitz erreichten Anfang 1945 auch die Brüder Hans und Ernst Siegel das KZ Mittelbau. Die zwei jungen Männer aus Barmen waren nach ihrer Ankunft katastrophalen Bedingungen ausgesetzt.

  • März Down
  • 28Februar

    Propaganda

    Am 28. Februar 1945 hielt Reichspropagandaminister Joseph Goebbels eine seiner letzten Rundfunkansprachen. Einer der Zuhörer war der KZ-Wachmann Rudolf Zseby im Außenlager Ellrich-Juliushütte des KZ Mittelbau-Dora.

  • 27Februar

    Weiße Busse in die Freiheit

    Am 27. Februar 1945 ließ die SS in Buchenwald eine Liste erstellen. Sie enthielt die Namen von 471 Norwegern und 75 Dänen.

  • 26Februar

    Kinderverse aus Buchenwald

    In einem behelfsmäßigen Büchlein hielt ein Junge durch Verse und Zeichnungen seine Erfahrungen fest. Es ist ein kindlicher Blick auf eine inhumane Welt.

  • 25Februar

    „Im vollsten Vertrauen auf Gott …“

    Im hohen Alter von 73 Jahren kam Ignacy Ledóchowski im Februar 1945 mit einem Räumungstransport aus dem KZ Groß-Rosen in das KZ Mittelbau-Dora. Nach monatelangen Entbehrungen wurde das Lager bei Nordhausen die letzte Station seines Lebens.

  • 24Februar

    „Betr.: Kommandos mit jüdischen Häftlingen“

    Unter diesem Titel ließ der SS-Arbeitseinsatzführer von Buchenwald am 24. Februar 1945, wie regelmäßig in den vorangegangenen Monaten, eine Liste erstellen. Wo immer es ging, bestand die SS auch in den Außenlagern weiterhin auf der Trennung von Juden und Nichtjuden.

  • 23Februar

    Verweigert

    Im Herbst 1944 stellte das NS-Regime den Volkssturm auf. Alle bisher noch nicht eingezogenen Männer zwischen 16 und 60 sollten für den Krieg mobilisiert werden – als letzte Reserve. Der Bergmann Johann Rasch aus Bottrop machte jedoch nicht mit.

  • 22Februar

    Profiteure

    Nach einem alliierten Bombenangriff forderte die Stadt Nordhausen Häftlinge aus dem KZ Mittelbau-Dora für Bergungs- und Aufräumarbeiten an. 389 Häftlinge mussten am 22. Februar 1945 fünf Kilometer in die Stadt marschieren und die gefährlichen und kraftraubenden Arbeiten ausführen.

  • 21Februar

    Erschlagen vom Kapo

    Am frühen Morgen des 21. Februar 1945 wurde der Pole Alfred Zarejski mit starken Bauchschmerzen in den Häftlingskrankenbau des Lagers Dora eingeliefert. Fünf Stunden später starb er an inneren Blutungen. Die Sektion ergab eine Milzruptur.

  • 20Februar

    „Todesursache: vollständige Erschöpfung“

    „Abgang durch Tod“, so ist die Meldung vom Tod des Franzosen François Audran überschrieben, der am 20. Februar 1945 im Außenlager Ellrich-Juliushütte des KZ Mittelbau-Dora starb. Er war erst eine Woche zuvor aus dem Außenlager Rechlin des KZ Ravensbrück in den Harz gebracht worden.

  • 19Februar

    Trümmermänner

    Am 19. Februar 1945 verkündete der Gauleiter von Thüringen seinen Durchhalteaufruf „Und wir siegen doch!“. Am gleichen Tag holte sich das Stadtbauamt 1 051 KZ-Häftlinge aus Buchenwald nach Weimar. Dort wurden sie zu den gefährlichsten Arbeiten eingesetzt.

  • 18Februar

    „Malachit“ – Mörderische Bauarbeit im Stollen

    Am 18. Februar 1945 trafen 135 jüdische Häftlinge des KZ Buchenwald im Außenlager Langenstein-Zwieberge ein. Unter dem Tarnnamen „Malachit“ ließ die SS dort eine Stollenanlage in die Thekenberge am Harz treiben.

  • 17Februar

    Ein Schicksalloser

    Für jene, die ihn zwischen Leichen hervorzogen, war er ein namenloser Junge. Ein Sanitäter trug ihn ins Mittelgeschoss des Kammergebäudes in Buchenwald, er bekam zu essen. Ein zweiter Sanitäter erschien, nahm ihn und trug ihn fort, in eine Krankenbaracke des „Kleinen Lagers“.

  • 16Februar

    „Fahnenflucht“

    Am 16. Februar 1945 wurden sechs sogenannte Zwischenhäftlinge in das KZ Mittelbau-Dora eingewiesen. Es waren Wehrmachtsdeserteure, die ihre eigentliche Strafe erst nach Ende des Krieges antreten sollten. An ihren unterschiedlichen Schicksalen zeigt sich, wie willkürlich der NS-Terror in den letzten Monaten des Krieges war.

  • 15Februar

    „Schweinsgesicht Anne“

    Am 15. Februar 1945 befanden sich in den 26 Frauen-Außenlagern von Buchenwald 26 000 Frauen und Mädchen. 319 SS-Männer und 567 Aufseherinnen bewachten sie und machten ihnen das Leben schwer.

  • 14Februar

    „Begünstigung zum Fluchtversuch der Mutter“

    Allein im Monat Februar kamen im Außenlager Ohrdruf über 700 Menschen ums Leben. Ihre Leichname wurden verscharrt oder im Freien verbrannt. Einer von denen, die ohne Grab blieben, war der 30-jährige Kraftfahrer Walter Roth aus Kronberg, der am 14. Februar 1945 starb.

  • 13Februar

    Quer durch die Stadt

    Kolonnen marschierender KZ-Häftlinge gehörten in Witten-Annen schon länger zum Stadtbild. Im September 1944 hatte die SS in der Stadt im Ruhrgebiet ein Außenlager des KZ Buchenwald für die Ruhrstahl AG eingerichtet.

  • 12Februar

    „Auf der Flucht erschossen“

    Bernhard Lüdtke war einer von über 200 als homosexuell kategorisierten Häftlingen im KZ Mittelbau-Dora. Er wurde nur 31 Jahre alt. Nach Unterlagen der SS wurde er am 12. Februar 1945 tot in den Krankenbau im Außenlager Harzungen eingeliefert.

  • 11Februar

    Die große Politik

    Im sowjetischen Badeort Jalta auf der Krim kamen an diesem Tag die Regierungschefs der Sowjetunion, der Vereinigten Staaten und Großbritanniens zum abschließenden Gruppenfoto zusammen. Acht Tage hatten die „Großen Drei“ der Antihitlerkoalition Pläne für die Zeit nach ihrem Sieg über Nazideutschland geschmiedet.

  • 10Februar

    Geheime Notizen

    Alex Hacker hielt die Ereignisse während seiner KZ-Haft in einem geheimen Notizbuch fest. Am 10. Februar 1945 machte er in Dora einen besonderen Eintrag: „Und hier werde ich das Datum eintragen, wenn ich meine teure und geliebte Mutter und meinen Vater in Gesundheit wiedersehen werde.“

  • 09Februar

    Luftangriff

    Der Luftangriff der U.S. Air-Force am 9. Februar 1945 galt dem Rüstungswerk im Norden der Stadt Weimar. Doch auch in Weimar starben Hunderte von Einwohnern.

  • 08Februar

    Flucht aus dem Lageralltag

    Um der qualvollen Realität zu entfliehen, fertigte die junge Polin Maria Brzęcka im Außenlager Meuselwitz Zeichnungen an. Die Lebensbedingungen in diesem Buchenwalder Frauenlager waren schrecklich: Gewalt, Ungeziefer, Hunger und Zwangsarbeit bis zur Erschöpfung.

  • 07Februar

    „Von guten Mächten wunderbar geborgen …“

    So beginnt die letzte Strophe eines Gedichts, das der Theologe Dr. Dietrich Bonhoeffer aus dem Berliner Gestapogefängnis an seine Verlobte schickte. Es war sein letzter Brief. Am 7. Februar 1945 verlegte ihn die Gestapo mit elf anderen Gefangenen nach Buchenwald.

  • 06Februar

    Zwangsarbeit bis zum Tod

    Am 6. Februar 1945 meldete der Lagerführer des KZ-Außenlagers Harzungen den Tod von Eduard Florian, Mathis Dambrowski und Josef Herzenberger an das Hauptlager Dora des KZ Mittelbau. Sie waren an den Folgen von Zwangsarbeit, Hunger, Kälte, miserablen Hygienezuständen und medizinischer Unterversorgung gestorben.

  • 05Februar

    Bei „Nacht und Nebel“

    285 Männer aus dem geräumten Zuchthaus Groß-Strehlitz in Schlesien erreichten an diesem Tag Buchenwald. Teils seit Jahren warteten ihre Angehörigen schon vergeblich auf ein Lebenszeichen von ihnen. Bei „Nacht und Nebel“ – wie es im NS-Jargon hieß – hatten die deutschen Besatzer sie verschleppt.

  • 04Februar

    „… ein bisserl Freiheit“

    Mehr als fünf Jahre saß der Münchner Journalist Josef Ackermann schon im Konzentrationslager, zuerst in Buchenwald und seit Januar 1944 in Dora. Zu Kriegsbeginn hatte die Gestapo ihn verhaftet.

  • 03Februar

    Ein „Gerechter unter den Völkern“

    Im Kleinen Lager von Buchenwald starb an diesem Tag der 63-jährige Franzose Maurice Trélut. In dem abgeriegelten Elendsviertel des Lagers hatte er die letzten Monate seines Lebens verbracht – umgeben von Dreck, Gestank, Krankheit und massenhaftem Sterben.

  • 02Februar

    Weitermachen

    In diesem Winter glaubten nicht mehr viele Deutsche an den propagierten „Endsieg“. Obwohl Untergangsstimmung aufkam, gab es weder nennenswerten Widerstand noch einen Einbruch der Rüstungsproduktion.

  • 01Februar

    Ein neuer Kommandant aus Auschwitz

    Am 1. Februar 1945 wurde der 33-Jährige Richard Baer neuer Kommandant des KZ Mittelbau. Wie Tausende Häftlinge war er zusammen mit Hunderten weiteren SS-Angehörigen und dem gesamten Generalstab des KZ Auschwitz Ende Januar in den Südharz gekommen.

  • Up Februar Down
  • 31Januar

    Letzte Deportationen

    Die Gestapo deportierte am 31. Januar 172 der letzten noch in Deutschland lebenden Jüdinnen und Juden aus Weimar und anderen Städten in das Ghetto Theresienstadt.

  • 30Januar

    „… bis zum letzten Atemzug!“

    Zum 12. Jahrestag der Machtübernahme lud der NSDAP-Kreisabschnitt Nordhausen am 30. Januar zu einer Kundgebung in das Nordhäuser Riesenhaus.

  • 29Januar

    Ermordet zur Abschreckung

    Am 29. Januar 1945 lieferte die SS Pēteris Zunters in den Arrestzellenbau von Buchenwald ein. Einen Tag später erhängte sie ihn und acht andere Häftlinge des Außenlagers Langensalza im Keller des Krematoriums.

  • 28Januar

    Von Auschwitz in den Harz

    Am 28. Januar traf ein erster großer Räumungstransport mit etwa 4 000 Häftlingen aus Auschwitz im KZ Mittelbau-Dora ein.

  • 27Januar

    Der Tod des Vaters

    Noch am Abend zuvor hatte er mit seinem Sohn Bertrand gesprochen – wie jeden Abend, seit er im Krankenrevier lag. Nun war Willy Herz am Ende seiner Kräfte.

  • 26Januar

    Sterben im Waggon

    Ein Zug mit Dutzenden offenen Güterwaggons brachte am 26. Januar fast 4 000, überwiegend jüdische Männer und Jungen aus Auschwitz nach Buchenwald.

  • 25Januar

    121 649 26 03 25 15 323

    Am 25. Januar 1945 schickte die SS-Zentrale in Berlin erstmals eine zehnseitige Liste mit 850 Nummerncodes nach Buchenwald.

  • 24Januar

    Größenwahn und Verzweiflung

    Bis zum 24. Januar 1945 flimmerten in der aktuellen Ausgabe der Deutschen Wochenschau Aufnahmen der V2-Rakete über die deutschen Kinoleinwände.

  • 23Januar

    Unerwartete Hilfe

    Nach der Ankunft aus Auschwitz erlebte der 16-jährige jüdische Häftling Robert Büchler am 23. Januar in Buchenwald einen bis dahin ungekannten Akt der Solidarität.

  • 22Januar

    Erhängt in seiner Zelle

    In der Nacht vom 22. auf den 23. Januar 1945 starb der Kommunist Albert Kuntz im Arrestzellenbau des KZ Mittelbau-Dora.

  • 21Januar

    Wehrmachtsoldaten als Wachposten im KZ

    Durch immer neue Außenlagergründungen benötigte die SS im Jahr 1944 zusätzliches Wachpersonal. Um die Lücken zu schließen, wurden nun Wehrmachtangehörige in großer Zahl an die Konzentrationslager überstellt.

  • 20Januar

    Wermuth und Zigarren beim Manager der KZ-Zwangsarbeit

    Die Planungen zum Einsatz von KZ-Häftlingen für die Raketenmontage gingen auch in den letzten Monaten des Krieges weiter.

  • 19Januar

    Sonnenaufgang

    Die Häftlinge im Außenlager Holzen verfolgten das Vorrücken der Alliierten mit großer Hoffnung und bangem Warten.

  • 18Januar

    Kinderblock 66

    „So sah also mein neues Zuhause aus“ – so beschrieb der 16-jährige Salek Orenstein sein neues Quartier im Kleinen Lager von Buchenwald.

  • 17Januar

    Der letzte Brief

    Eine Woche zuvor noch hatte ein Polizeibeamter in Köln Theodor Babilon Hoffnung auf eine Freilassung gemacht. Doch es kam anders.

  • 16Januar

    Frostbeulen an Händen und Füßen

    Minus acht Grad zeigte das Thermometer an diesem Abend, seit Wochen herrschte tiefer Frost. Trotzdem zogen über 1 000 Frauen des Außenlagers Markkleeberg zu Zwölf-Stunden-Schichten in das Junkers-Werk.

  • 15Januar

    Als Kriegsgefangener ins KZ

    Am 15. Januar gründete die SS ein neues Außenlager des KZ Mittelbau in Wickerode, einem Dorf im heutigen Sachsen-Anhalt. Hier mussten 30 italienische Kriegsgefangene eine Gasleitung verlegen.

  • 14Januar

    Jazz im KZ Buchenwald

    Die tägliche Buchenwald-Statistik zählte an diesem Sonntag fast 89 000 Häftlinge. 71 starben, Tausende warteten in Quarantäne oder lagen todkrank in den provisorischen Krankenrevieren.

  • 13Januar

    „Wie ein Wüstensturm …“

    Das rasante Vorrücken der Roten Armee sprach sich bis zu den Häftlingen im KZ-Außenlager Ellrich-Juliushütte herum. Der französische Widerstandskämpfer Serge Miller erinnerte sich nach dem Krieg an den 13. Januar 1945 als einen Moment der Hoffnung.

  • 12Januar

    „Invalidentransport“

    Am 12. Januar 1945 trafen bei Schneeregen 1 400 völlig erschöpfte Häftlinge am Bahnhof Buchenwald ein. Fast die Hälfte waren ungarische Juden. Unterwegs waren 165 von ihnen gestorben.

  • 11Januar

    Von der Front ins KZ

    „Zum Zwecke des schweren und gefahrvollen Arbeitseinsatzes …“ – so umschrieb ein Informationsblatt für die Gerichte des deutschen Feldheeres im September 1944 die Auslieferung von verurteilten Wehrmachtsoldaten an die Konzentrationslager.

  • 10Januar

    Die Frauen von Penig

    Bereits seit einiger Zeit hatten die Max-Gehrt-Werke in Penig bei der SS um KZ-Häftlinge gebeten. Am 10. Januar gingen 700 angeforderte Zwangsarbeiterinnen aus Ravensbrück auf Transport in das neue Buchenwalder Außenlager in der sächsischen Kleinstadt.

  • 09Januar

    Ein neues KZ – mitten im Dorf

    Die Entstehung des Konzentrationslagers Mittelbau-Dora bei Nordhausen machte sich auch in den umliegenden Gemeinden bemerkbar.

  • 08Januar

    Mikrokosmos des NS-Lagerterrors

    Während des Krieges wurden Menschen aus ganz Europa zur Zwangsarbeit nach Deutschland verschleppt. Die Gründung eines neuen Außenlagers des KZ Mittelbau-Dora am 8. Januar macht deutlich, wie das mörderische System verschiedener Lagertypen funktionierte.

  • 07Januar

    Sonntags in Schlieben

    Mehr als 2300 Häftlinge des Außenlagers Schlieben, Männer und Frauen, zogen an diesem Sonntag in die Munitionsfabrik. Weitab von den Zielorten alliierter Bomber produzierte die Hugo-Schneider-AG (Hasag) hier die Waffe für den „Endkampf“, die Panzerfaust, Ziel: eine Million Stück im Monat. Koste es, was es wolle.

  • 06Januar

    Ein „Held der Sowjetunion“ stirbt in Buchenwald

    Am 6. Januar registrierte die Lagerverwaltung den Tod des 28-jährigen sowjetischen Kriegsgefangenen Gawriil Lepjochin. Als ihn Mithäftlinge wenige Monate später lebend wiedertrafen, war die Überraschung groß.

  • 05Januar

    Kindertransport

    Als in Buchenwald der Befehl erging, einen Transport mit Kindern zusammenzustellen, befürchtete man einen Vernichtungstransport. Funktionshäftlinge versuchten, nur wenige Kinder auszuliefern. Den Transport verhindern konnten sie nicht.

  • 04Januar

    Zurück nach Auschwitz

    Am 4. Januar 1945 verließen zwei Frauen begleitet von einem SS-Mann das Buchenwalder Außenlager in Hessisch-Lichtenau. Ihr Ziel: Auschwitz-Birkenau.

  • 03Januar

    „Von der Straße weg zur Arbeit verpflichtet“

    Am 3. Januar 1945 starb der 18-jährige Franzose René d’Halluin im KZ Mittelbau-Dora.

  • 02Januar

    Hilfe für einen 16-Jährigen

    Im Außenlager „Hecht“ bei Holzen fertigte der französische Häftling Camille Delétang ein Porträt seines Mitgefangenen Jean-Louis Netter an.

  • 01Januar

    „Das Leben ist schön“

    Neujahr 1945 – für den Buchenwaldhäftling Jean-Louis Guellerin war dies ein Tag der Hoffnung.

  • Up Januar