Logo Stiftung Gedenkstätte Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora

Dear visitors to this online portal,

On 11 April 1945, US Army units advanced on Weimar and Nordhausen. For 21,000 people in the Buchenwald concentration camp, this was a day of liberation; around 500 prisoners were liberated by American soldiers in Mittelbau-Dora. But for tens of thousands of others, the suffering continued – they had previously been forced onto clearance transports and death marches, and many of the survivors were not liberated until weeks later. But since 1945, they have also observed April 11th as the symbolic day of liberation.

We will mark this day for the 76th time in 2021. The significant 75th anniversary of the liberation had to be cancelled at short notice last year due to the coronavirus pandemic. The hope that we could make up for it in 2021 proved to be deceptive, since the pandemic has once again prevented in-person events. But unlike in 2020, we had time this year to prepare an extensive digital programme. This portal brings together the #otd1945 blog about daily events leading up to the liberation, interviews with survivors, statements from politicians, scholars, creative artists and activists, descriptions of the wide-ranging and weeks-long selection of events taking place in Nordhausen and Weimar (and naturally online), and in-depth information about exhibitions and art projects we developed specially for the 76th anniversary of the liberation.

This extensive programme commemorates the days and weeks in April 1945 when the war in Europe was coming to an end, the survivors were liberated from the camps and the Nazi regime was defeated. With this programme, we want to honour the victims and provoke reflection – such as on what has become of the hopes of the survivors of 1945 for the creation of a peaceful, humane, unified and democratic world without racism and antisemitism.

Digital commemoration cannot take the place of personal encounters with and between survivors and their families, but it can make this diverse content and information accessible to a wider audience for a longer period of time. We hope you take full advantage of this portal, and we are delighted to have you here!

On behalf of all my colleagues

Jens-Christian Wagner

Director of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation

20

May

Haut, Stein

Exhibition

04:00 PM
20 May: Opening - Nikolaiplatz, in front of the municipal library, Nordhausen

Read more

Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as per a decision of the German Bundestag and the Thuringian State Chancellery
In Kooperation mit
Mit freundlicher Unzterstützung

Logo Stiftung Gedenkstätte Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora

Sehr geehrte Besucherinnen und Besucher dieses Onlineportals,

am 11. April 1945 rückten amerikanische Einheiten auf Weimar und Nordhausen vor. Für 21 000 Menschen brachte dieser Tag die Befreiung in Buchenwald; etwa 500 Häftlinge befreiten amerikanische Soldaten in Mittelbau-Dora. Für Zehntausende ging das Leiden jedoch weiter: Sie waren zuvor aus Räumungstransporte und Todesmärsche getrieben worden. Die Überlebenden wurden teils erst Wochen später befreit. Doch auch sie begingen nach 1945 den 11. April als den symbolischen Tag der Befreiung.

2021 jährt sich dieser Tag zum 76. Mal. Der runde 75. Jahrestag der Befreiung musste im vergangenen Jahr wegen der Corona-Pandemie kurzfristig abgesagt werden. Die Hoffnung, ihn 2021 nachholen zu können, war trügerisch: Auch in diesem Jahr verhindert die Pandemie Präsenzveranstaltungen. Doch im Unterschied zu 2020 hatten wir diesmal Zeit, intensiv digitale Angebote vorzubereiten. Sie finden sie gebündelt auf diesem Portal: das Blog #otd1945 über tägliche Geschehnisse bis zur Befreiung, Interviews mit Überlebenden, Statements von Politiker*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Kulturschaffenden und Aktivist*innen, Hinweise zu unserem breiten, sich über Wochen erstreckenden Veranstaltungsangebot in Nordhausen und Weimar (und natürlich im Internet), und vertiefende Informationen zu Ausstellungen und Kunstprojekten, die wir eigens für den 76. Jahrestag der Befreiung realisiert haben.

Dieses umfangreiche Programm soll an die Tage und Wochen im April 1945 erinnern, als der Krieg in Europa zu Ende ging, die Überlebenden aus den Lagern befreit wurden und das NS-Regime besiegt wurde. Mit dem Programm wollen wir die Opfer würdigen und zum Nachdenken anregen – etwa darüber, was aus den Hoffnungen der Überlebenden von 1945 auf eine friedliche, humane, einige und demokratische Welt ohne Rassismus und Antisemitismus geworden ist.

Die persönliche Begegnung von und mit Überlebenden und Angehörigen kann ein digitaler Jahrestag der Befreiung nicht ersetzen. Er kann die umfangreichen Angebote und Informationen aber breiter zugänglich und nachhaltiger verfügbar machen. Umso mehr hoffen wir, dass dieses Angebot auch reichlich genutzt wird und freuen uns, dass Sie hier sind!

Im Namen aller Kolleginnen und Kollegen

Jens-Christian Wagner
Direktor der Stiftung Gedenkstätten Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora

09

November

Verschwindende Wand – mit Botschaften, die bleiben

Installation

10:00
09. November 2021: Enthüllung - vor der Goldenen Pforte, Neues Rathaus Dresden

Weiterlesen

Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages sowie von der Thüringer Staatskanzlei
In Kooperation mit
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung